Anthony Powell: A Centennial Exhibition

Stephen Richard Kerbs Exhibit Area

The year 2005 marks the 100th anniversary of the birth of English author Anthony Powell, who is most remembered for his 12-volume work A Dance to the Music of Time. Born on December 21, 1905, in London, England, Powell studied at Eton College (1919-1923) and Oxford (1923-1926). Early in his career, he worked for London publisher Duckworth, and, in 1931, published his first novel, Afternoon Men, with Duckworth. Powell wrote several novels on prewar society, including Venusberg (1932).

Powell embarked on a career in journalism in 1936, and in total he wrote for The Daily Telegraph for almost 50 years. Following service in World War II, Powell wrote the biography John Aubrey and His Friends (1948). Then, in 1951, Powell published A Question of Upbringing, the first volume in his masterpiece series of 12 novels known as A Dance to the Music of Time. When Hearing Secret Harmonies was published 24 years later in 1975, the series ended.

Powell wrote additional novels after his famous series was complete. He also published his memoirs To Keep the Ball Rolling in 1983. Anthony Powell died on March 28, 2000 near Frome, Somerset, England.

To Keep the Ball Rolling: The Memoirs of Anthony Powell

Powell, Anthony.
London: Heinemann, 1976.

Infants in the Spring: The Memoirs of Anthony Powell

Powell, Anthony
New York: Holt, 1977

Afternoon Men

Powell, Anthony
Boston: Little, Brown & Co., no year.
Originally published in 1931, this book was Powell's first novel.

Two Novels by Anthony Powell: Venusberg and Agents & Patients

Powell, Anthony
Boston: Little Brown & Co., no year.
First published in 1932, Venusberg was a study of society before World War II, one of
several books Powell published on that theme.

A Question of Upbringing

Powell, Anthony
London: Heinemann, 1952.
Powell published this book in 1951; it was the first novel in his 12-part cycle of novels, A Dance to the Music of Time.

A Dance to the Music of Time: A Question of Upbringing, A Buyer's Market, The Acceptance World

Powell, Anthony
Boston: Little, Brown & Co., 1955

Hearing Secret Harmonies

Powell, Anthony
New York: Popular Library,
1975. This novel, published in 1975, was the last in the series A Dance to the Music of Time.

Letter to Handasyde Buchanan

Typed Letter, signed, dated 5/17/1966 from Anthony Powell to bookseller Handasyde Buchanan.

Todd Haines Collection.

Letter to John Monagan

Typed Letter, signed, dated 3/14/1969 from Anthony Powell to friend and U.S. Congressman John Monagan.

John Monagan-Anthony Powell Collection.

Photograph of Anthony Powell

Dated 8/15/1987.

Todd Haines Collection.

Brochure for Anthony Powell Centenary Conference 2005