Academic Preservation Trust

APTrust is a consortium of 17 higher education institutions committed to providing both a sustainable preservation repository for digital content and collaboratively developed services related to that content.  The APTrust repository accepts digital materials in all formats from member institutions and provides diverse storage to ensure their preservation.

Membership in APTrust is a key component of the Library’s digital preservation strategy. The Library is dedicated to ensuring that digital resources are preserved for future generations of scholars and that today’s scholarship, often born-digital, is not lost. APTrust's aggregated repository will manage and help prevent the permanent loss of scholarship and cultural records. In addition, member institutions share expertise and work collaboratively on preservation projects and disaster recovery.

The other members of APTrust include Columbia University, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University, North Carolina State University, Penn State University, Syracuse University, Virginia Tech, and the universities of Chicago, Cincinnati, Connecticut, Maryland, Miami, Michigan, North Carolina, Notre Dame and Virginia. You can learn more about APTrust on their website.